Welcome to WeightLossChat.org!   

Advertisments:

Would My Freshman Year Gpa Harm My Chances Of Attending A Prestigious College?

Depression making it hard to lose weight?

Postby Stanwic » Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:23 pm

I'm a sophomore in high school and I already have an idea of what school I want to go to in the future for college. I'm thinking about Washington University in St. Louis's pre-med program, but they have a GPA average of 4.38 for acceptance.

My freshman year cumulative GPA is a 3.3 due to suffering from depression. However, I have a 4.0 for first semester sophomore year and will probably reach a 4.0 - 4.2 my second semester, making my cumulative for sophomore year a 4.0 - 4.1. This would make my high school career weighted cumulative GPA 3.6 - 3.7 after the end of sophomore year.

I'm just wondering if colleges take improvement into consideration while viewing the GPA of applicants. At this rate, I should finish with a GPA of 3.9 - 4.2 (weighted) by the end of my high school career after taking the classes I plan on taking.

I'm taking ACT/SAT prep courses this summer and attending a summer program next summer, along with applying to National Honors Society (NHS) junior year second semester.

So, would my freshman year truly hurt my chances at Wash U?
Stanwic

Postby Caelan » Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:25 pm

call wash u admissions office and ask them. maybe they would just give you a straight answer. 3.3 is not that bad tho. it isn't a perfect 4.0 but it is above average.
Caelan

Postby Jahari » Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:28 pm

This may be somewhat brutal, but yes, your freshman year would truly hurt your chances of getting into a prestigious college.

But who said that "injury" would be life-threatening? It may hurt, but it might be just a scrap; It won't even matter. As long as you do well throughout the rest of high school, colleges won't even give a crap about freshman year. If you truly try to aim high and actually try hard, then go for it!