Welcome to WeightLossChat.org!   

Advertisments:

Do I suffer from anorexia?

Postby ashby29 » Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:17 pm

I am a 20 year old student who has been dealing with depression for over a year. I don't eat very much due to never feeling hungry. I feel like I'm becoming progressively worse when it comes to my eating habits (from not feeling hungry to disliking many foods and finding it difficult to swallow and consume).

I am about 5'3", have peaked to 120 pounds at some point in my freshman year of college, I generally average between 110-115 pounds in weight (ever since I was 12 I weighed in this range), and recently I've dropped to an all time low of 104-106 pounds. If I had to estimate the calories I ate per day, I'd say it would be on average around 1k calories per day, but I don't accurately keep track. I am terribly inactive, and I do have a low self esteem / poor body image ever since a young age, but I'm not intentionally dieting or trying to lose weight. I'm aware that I am rather thin right now and certainly not overweight by any means. I just don't / can't seem to eat normally anymore.

I spoke to my therapist about all of this recently (who I see for my depression), and she is inclined to think I am anorexic (though apparently not a bad case of anorexia). I've always had a feeling I had SOME sort of eating disorder, but when I look up symptoms on anorexia, I feel like those symptoms don't fit me (I'm not striving to be as thin as possible, but I admit I do like to be thin and not overweight). Also, I started taking antidepressants, Lexapro, two weeks ago, and I felt EXTREMELY hungry for a few days after starting it (hadn't felt that kind of hunger in probably a year or so). Now, I'm back in to my old feeling of no hunger again.
ashby29

Postby ulrich » Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:22 pm